Welcome‎ > ‎Pastor's Message‎ > ‎

Message From Pastor Leon

posted Jun 27, 2017, 12:34 PM by Tracey Morris

The church council appointed the Transition Team at their May meeting. The members are :

Chairperson Janelle Savitski, Chris Wentzel, Meryl Barthel, Deb Cook, Mark Sedlacek, Tim Hanson, Barb Kiputh, Sharon Griffin, Karen Maeder, and council representative Mark Job. The church council and congregation thanks all of you for your willingness to serve in this way.

The team met for the first time Wednesday evening, June 21. They were informed of the LCMC (Lutheran Congregations in Mission for Christ) resources available to them, discussed procedures and how to begin, and several members shared their experiences serving on past Call Committees. The Transition Team is a new step in the process, suggested by the LCMC ministry board. The LCMC call process allows considerably more freedom to the congregation as they seek a pastor, but this also means more work for the congregation. The Transition Team does what Call Committees used to do in the first part of the process. Their job will be to provide ways and opportunities for all members of the congregation to have their input in the process, and prepare a report to guide the council and Call Committee in preparing a job description. In the coming weeks and months there will be surveys, meetings, and opportunities for conversation. Feel free to share your thoughts with the members of the team.

Ongoing updates will be provided each month in this column. Please remember the Transition Team as they take these initial steps in the calling of our next Senior Pastor.

Pastor Leon